Grant Wood AEA logo
ABOUT GWAEA  | STAFF WEBSITE  |  STAFF GMAIL  |  TRANSLATE
assistivetechnology

 

CONTACT US

Stacy Behmer
Coordinator of Digital Learning Technology
319-399-6423

sbehmer@gwaea.org


Julie Freed
Speech-Language Pathologist
319-399-6546

jfreed@gwaea.org

 

Assistive Technology

Assistive technology enables children and youth with disabilities to participate more fully in all aspects of life and helps them to access their right to a "free, appropriate public education" (FAPE) in the "least restrictive environment" (LRE). Although assistive technology is a "tool" or set of "tools" that assists students to benefit from the general education curriculum, it is not solely devices or services. It may also take the form of adaptations or modifications. Because assistive technology takes many different forms, it looks different from student to student. In fact, the provision of assistive technology must be individualized for each student. (from "Assistive Technology: Creating a Pathway")

 

With this in mind, the assistive technology staff at Grant Wood AEA provide services in the following areas:

  • specialized consultation to families and IEP/IFSP teams

  • support to families and IEP/IFSP teams

  • information resources to families and educators

  • information and referral

  • professional development opportunities to families and IEP/IFSP teams

  • assistive technology lending library

    ASSISTIVE TECHNOLOGY SUPPORT OPTIONS: click here

 

GWAEA Assistive Technology Support Team Members:

Stacy Behmer

Coordinator of Digital Learning   

sbehmer@gwaea.org

Julie Freed

Assistive Tech Team Lead,
All Agency Low Incidence Disability Consultant, Speech/Language Pathologist

jfreed@gwaea.org

Sheila Matheson

Cedar Rapids, Cedar Rapids Metro Catholic,Cedar Rapids Trinity Lutheran, Isaac Newton Christian AcademySummit School

smatheson@gwaea.org

John Bethke

Iowa City, Iowa City Regina 

jbethke@gwaea.org

Debbie Mills

College Community, Marion

dmills@gwaea.org

Patty Soldner    

Linn-Mar

psoldner@gwaea.org

Amanda Miller

Benton, Vinton-Shellsburg, Center Point-Urbana, North-Linn, Alburnett, Central City

ammiller@gwaea.org

Maggie Pickett

Mount Vernon, Lisbon, Springville, Solon, West Branch, Tipton, North Cedar, Olin, Monticello, Anamosa, Midland

mpickett@gwaea.org 

Julie King       

Belle Plaine, Iowa Valley, HLV, Mid-Prairie, Williamsburg, Washington, Highland, Lone Tree, Clear Creek Amana, English Valleys

jking@gwaea.org

Randy Perkins

GWAEA Off-site programs

rperkins@gwaea.org


 

GW logoAEA logo

 

Grant Wood Area Education Agency extends equal opportunities in its employment practices, educational programs and services, and does not discriminate on the basis of color, gender, race, national origin, religion, creed, age, sexual orientation, gender identity, marital status, disability, veteran status or as otherwise prohibited by law. If you believe you or your child has been discriminated against or treated unjustly, please contact the Agency’s Equity Coordinator, Maria Cashman, at 319-399-6847 or 800-332-8488. Grant Wood AEA, 4401 Sixth St SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404.

ADDRESS: 4401 Sixth Street SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404
TELEPHONE: 319-399-6700 | 800-332-8488
Fax: 319-399-6457
SOCIAL SITES: rss feed logo